Skip to main content

The Directors Behind Beyoncé’s Visual Album

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Following the launch of Beyoncé's surprise album last Friday, Apple has announced that BEYONCÉ has become the fastest selling album ever on iTunes, selling an unprecedented 828,773 copies worldwide in just its first three days. Apart from the album's outrageous sales numbers, what has industry insiders and cultural commentators agog is the game-changing aspect of the release: in addition to the unprecedentedly clandestine nature of the drop, there's the unique visual component that sees a total of 17 videos to go along with the 14 tracks. The videos were shot around the world, featuring varied locations ranging from Bey's hometown of Houston to cities like Paris, Rio de Janeiro and Sydney and beyond. The directors, meanwhile, took the form various A-list filmmakers and fashion photographers. Continue reading for a full list of contributors and their corresponding titles, as well as 30-second previews of each video. Go to The FADER to find out more about each director, including past credits and collaborators.

  1. "Pretty Hurts" directed by Melina Matsoukas

  2. "Ghost" directed by Pierre Debusschere

  3. "Haunted" directed by Jonas Akerlund

  4. "Drunk in Love" directed by Hype Williams

  5. "Blow" directed by Hype Williams

  6. "No Angel" directed by @LILINTERNET

  7. "Yoncé" directed by Ricky Saiz

  8. "Partition" directed by Jake Nava

  9. "Jealous" directed by Beyoncé, Francesco Carrozzini, Todd Tourso

  10. "Rocket" directed by Ed Burke, Bill Kirstein

  11. "Mine" (feat. Drake) directed by Pierre Debusschere

  12. "XO" directed by Terry Richardson)

  13. "Flawless" (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche) directed by Jake Nava

  14. "Superpower" (feat. Frank Ocean) directed by Jonas Akerlund

  15. "Heaven" directed by Beyonce, Todd Tourso

  16. "Blue" (feat. Blue Ivy) directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke, Bill Kirstein

  17. "Grown Woman" directed by Jake Nava