Take A Peek Inside Facebook's New HQ

Author:
Updated:
Original:
take-a-peek-inside-facebook-new-hq-00

Yesterday, Facebook officially moved into their new office located in the lovely Menlo Park, California. Nicknamed "MPK20", which stands for "Menlo Park, Building 20", the 430,000-square foot warehouse was designed by legendary architect Frank Gehry and has the honor of being the largest open floor plan in the world. Essentially, it's a giant room that fits thousands of employees. "The building itself is pretty simple and isn’t fancy," said Mark Zuckerberg. "That’s on purpose. We want our space to feel like a work in progress. When you enter our buildings, we want you to feel how much left there is to be done in our mission to connect the world." The new space even boasts a 9-acre park with walking trails on the roof for outdoor breaks. Take a look below.

Love this piece from @fbairprogram. Reminds me of that song from Empire. #dripdrop #mpk20 #vscocam

A photo posted by Shali Nguyen (@shali) on Mar 30, 2015 at 5:59pm PDT

New art from @chrislux & @summerisrad as part of the @FBairprogram in @Facebook's new Building 20 #MPK20 #MPK20FirstLook

A photo posted by John Barnett (@johnbarnett) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:01pm PDT

Best part about the new Facebook campus: the (prank/short-lived) ball pit conference room #mpk20 #westcampus #fbhq

A photo posted by Sara Stalla (@sarastalla) on Mar 30, 2015 at 1:03pm PDT

Yesterday, some other Instagrammers and I had the opportunity to visit @facebook HQ and take a first look at their new building: #MPK20. It's a huge, open floor plan space designed by Frank Gehry. It looks like a fun place to work, and it opens today! Fun fact: FB worked with 15 artists on the new artwork in the building. Every piece was created onsite and is meant to speak abstractly to what FB does—many of the pieces are a nod to connections, community, networks and systems. This particular hallway makes me want an orange dessert. More photos to come. #MPK20firstlook

A photo posted by David E. Leøng (@d.leong) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:00am PDT

#mpk20

A photo posted by Scott Shapiro (@scottshapiro23) on Mar 30, 2015 at 4:18pm PDT

3) Another staircase shot from yesterday's walk through of @facebook's new expansion campus. See previous post for more info and check out the link in my bio for the full gallery. #MPK20FirstLook #MPK20

A photo posted by Toby Harriman Photography (@tobyharriman) on Mar 30, 2015 at 4:00pm PDT

Exciting opening day at @Facebook's new office building. This is the entrance I'll walk through on my way to my desk. Beautiful views everywhere. #MPK20 #MPK20FirstLook #Facebook

A photo posted by Mark Pike (@markpike) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:19pm PDT

Sunsets are gonna be epic on the 9-acre green roof at the @facebook office. A quick candid snap of the crew on Evan Shivleys tree stump art installation!! #MPK20 #MPK20firstlook

A photo posted by Elizabeth Gilmore (@elizabethgilmore) on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:28pm PDT