Skip to main content

Dr. Dre Announces First New Album in 16 Years

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Let's get this out of the way first: no, Dr. Dre's new album, his first release in 16 years, isn't the fabled Detox, which has taken on mythic status as one of hip hop's greatest unfinished albums. Instead, Dre's long-awaited third album will be Compton: The Soundtrack, featuring songs inspired by the N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton. The rapper/producer/headphone mogul announced the news on his Beats 1 radio show "The Pharmacy," revealing that the album will launch this Friday as an Apple Music exclusive. During the show, Dre also disclosed that Detox has effectively been scrapped. "The record, it just wasn’t good," he said. "I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job."

Check out the tracklist for Compton: The Soundtrack below, and pre-order the album here.

01 “Intro” 02 “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus) 03 “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay) 04 “It’s All On Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid) 05 “All In A Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius) 06 “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar) 07 “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um) 08 “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak) 09 “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus) 10 Jon Connor – “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg) 11 The Game – “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant) 12 “For The Love Of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor) 13 “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez) 14 “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak) 15 “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak) 16 “Talking To My Diary”